I Failed?! (Thank You)

You guys know that back in March, I took my Advanced II exam. If you watched that Vlog, you’ll know that I had some pointe shoe drama. Well, my exam results came in about a couple weeks ago, and I failed the exam.

STANDARD NOT ATTAINED

My teacher texted me that morning and told me the news. To be honest, I’d already prepared myself as soon as I left the exam room for the possibility that I would fail. Of course, I also was hoping that the examiner would forgive the technical difficulty, but that was not the case. I wasn’t at all surprised, but I did feel a bit irritated. Not with the examiner, but with the situation.

The scoring of the exam works like this: if you fail one section, you fail the whole exam. You can score as high as 10/10 points. This was my score chart:

Technique 1: Barre   9/10

Technique 2: Port De Bras, Center Practice, Pirouettes:    8/10

Technique 3: Adage   7/10

Technique 4: Allegro 1, 2, 3 & 4   8/10

Technique 5: Pointe Barre, Enchainment 1 & 2     4/10

Technique 6: Pointe    3/10 (Failed)

Music:    9/10

Performance:    9/10

Variation Technique:    4/10

Variation Performance:    9/10

Total Score: 70% (Standard Not Attained)

Had I not failed my pointe technique score, I would’ve passed with a distinction. I was talking to my best friend about this and he asked me (in my opinion) if it was worst to fail or pass with a merit. I honestly feel like failing was better than passing with a merit, and I answered that with confidence.

I am so proud of myself. I have never seen four 9/10 scores in one exam before, and my score of 8/10 for Allegro 1, 2, & 3 is the highest jumping score I’ve ever had. Though the paper says that I did not meet the standards of passing, I don’t see it as failing. I see it as overcoming hurdles I didn’t think I could overcome.

The next step is to retake the exam next year. I’m excited to reach my goal of getting distinction and moving on to Solo Seal!

And to those of you who read my Facebook/Instagram/Snapchat post on this, thank you so very much for the messages of encouragement and inspiring posts you sent to me. Thank you for your support, your love, and for your kind words. I took each and every message to heart and was overwhelmed by you. I’m so glad that you guys have found inspiration in my failures!

xoxo

Sung Eun Rose

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

