My Last Mock Exam… 02/27/17 A Life On Pointe Special

 

Hey guys!

How in the world have I made it here? That is the question I’ve been asking myself for the past month. I’ve been doing exams since I was nine years old, and I’m almost seventeen. Like… what?!

I’ve grown up. The night before my mock exam, I was looking back on footage from my Intermediate Foundation (a.k.a. years ago) on Facebook and I started crying. I was such a baby then, and now I’m a big girl… chasing hard after a childhood dream.

When I got into the LABA studio, I couldn’t hold back my joy. I was giggling and giddy and I just couldn’t believe that I was about to do this again. I have a lot of good memories in that particular room; from flashbacks of the first time I met Mr. Pegler and Ms. Andrea back in 2014, to past exams with my friend Renee, to late night and sometimes delirious partnering classes, I suddenly felt so overwhelmed with things to be thankful for.

I decided to just let go of all the doubts trying to creep into my head and I danced, feeling each and every movement. I can honestly say that I am proud of the way I performed that morning, even when I had some drama.

(haha, funny story… sort of)

My pointe shoes decided they wanted to die during my fouettes. When my mom went to order a new pair, I found out that my Russian Pointes are being discontinued. I got really frazzled and stressed out, which then effected the rest of my dancing. Once the session was over, we hopped in the car and went to the Dance Store.

Thanks to the lovely Jenny at the Dance Store and Mr. Pegler’s shoe choice, I found a brand new shoe that I love even more. I had my regular classes plus partnering class that night, so I was able to wear them and get a true feel of what dancing in them are like. They’re completely different from what I’m used to, but I love them.

I feel ready. Tomorrow, I’m taking the exam. I’ve never felt more nervous or excited for an exam in my life. I’m coming face to face with the dragon, and I know that I can take it down. Thanks to my teachers and their patience in training me, I know I am ready. Thanks to my friends, I know I am supported. Thanks to my family, I know I am loved.

And thanks to you, I know that I’m ready to kill this thing. I love you all, and thank you for all of the support you have shown to me in the last year. Keep me in your prayers and wish me good luck!

xoxo

Sung Eun Rose

One thought on “My Last Mock Exam… 02/27/17 A Life On Pointe Special

  1. Pingback: Where I Dreamed No. II – sungeunrose

Leave a Reply

