2017

New Years Resolutions: 2017

My Choice

New Years Resolutions… why bother?

Let me tell you why you should bother. New Years Resolutions are choices you are choosing to make, whether it’s a goal to be healthier, be on your phone/electronics less, make more time for family/friends/yourself, etc. It takes discipline to be consistent at your “New Years Resolution!”

My 2016 resolution was to not eat sugar for a whole year. I had an addiction I wanted to overcome, so on January 1st 2016, I quit eating foods that had any sort of processed sugar in it. It was very hard, especially the first three months. I traveled a lot last year, so every time I went to a restaurant, I had to ask, “can I see the ingredients list please?” or “what kind of sugar to you put in that?” The poor waiters and waitresses probably got really annoyed with me taking forever to choose a dish or requesting that they take things out or put things in.

Out of 365 days, I missed 7 days of this goal. One week!!! And when I broke it, I didn’t sigh and say, “oh well! We’ll try again next year.” NO!!!! I said, “We’ll try again after I eat this meal.”

The key to achieving your New Years Resolution is not giving up! Don’t sigh and roll over, fight! I know, it’s really hard to keep fighting for what you want. If you make a choice to make more time for your family, then take it one day at a time.

I.E. “Today, I’ll set aside one hour to spend with my kids,” or, “When I get home, I will give my family undivided attention and put away my phone until they go to bed.”

Please, don’t be so quick to give up. I know it’s hard, but trust me, when you choose to do something and overcome the hardships that come along the way, it’s really satisfying to say, “I may have stumbled, but I was consistent and I maintained my goal.”

My New Years Resolution for 2017 is to take care of myself, which may sound selfish, but it’s not. If you take care of yourself, you will function better and be a better person. Last year, I made an effort to do so, but it wasn’t a top priority. This year, I want to put taking care of myself at the top of the list.

Body

Since I am a full time dancer, it’s crucial that I take extra care of my body. I’m making it a goal to stretch lightly when I wake up, and do heavier stretching (splits, rolling out, etc.) before I go to bed (A.K.A. after dance). I do a lot of exercising outside of dance, such as dance strengthening, push-ups, burpees, etc. Something I need to do is go on more walks/runs. I’ll be the first to say that my stamina sorta sucks, and it’s something I need to work on.

I also need to focus on my health. Eating right, drinking the right amount of water,  getting a good amount of sleep/rest is crucial for anyone, especially athletes. I eat pretty healthy, but a lot of the time I get lazy and snack a lot on things that aren’t the best for my body (I.E. homemade cookies). I also definitely don’t drink enough water, and that is something I am working on. Also, sleep is good for this extremely busy, not-your-average hormonal teenager. *wink*

Mindset

Mindset is key for me. I tend to beat myself over everything I do wrong and say crap things about myself. Yes, I am confident and I know that I’m an incredible person (not to sound conceited), but like everyone else, I’m human and I doubt myself a lot.

This year, I am going to start speaking positively over myself, love myself more and hate myself less. I know it’s not going to be an easy climb, but I’m going to try. I bet you that this New Years Resolution is going to be a heck of a lot harder than last year’s.

Spiritual (Time With God)

You all know from my GOD TALK post during Blogmas that I spend time with God on an almost daily basis (when I say almost, I’m talking about those days when I have to wake up super early and get on the road, etc.). However, I feel like I haven’t given Him enough of my time. I spent maybe at the most an hour with Him, and on some days, more often than not, I’ll get in about 20-45 minutes a day.

This year, my goal is to spend at least an 1 1/2 hours with God a day, whether it’s broken up into parts of the day or whatever. I’m really passionate about my relationship with God, and for me, it’s really important that I get that time with Him in.

I hope this post has inspired you to make a New Year’s Resolution and stick to it. I believe in all of you, so go out there and do it! You guys can do it!

xoxo

Sung Eun Rose

 

Leave a Reply

