GOD TALK: 5 THINGS I (CONSISTENLY) DO WHEN I SPEND TIME WITH GOD (Blogmas Day 16)

It’s very rare that I bring my time with God into a conversation. However, being a pastor’s daughter, it’s a question I get asked on a regular basis. It’s odd to me when people ask this question because it’s a surprisingly private thing for me to talk about. I know this is a bit different, but this is a part of my lifestyle, so here goes.

WORSHIP

Worship is absolutely key in my time with God, especially on the days where I feel He’s distant. It’s a great way to get into the mood of wanting to spend time with Him. Worship is my personal way of inviting Holy Spirit to come, and when His presence arrives, I begin to pray that He brings more. 

PRAYER

After inviting the presence of God into my room or wherever I’m spending time with Him, I like to pray a series of prayers. I pray for specific people/things who either have asked me to pray for them or I feel God is telling me to pray for them. I pray for myself, that I would have courage and boldness to walk out my destiny, and many other things. For me, a life without prayer is a life unfulfilled, and I want to make sure that I fulfill everything God has called me in my lifetime to do.

COFFEE TIME (BIBLE TIME)

This is normally the time I’ll walk outside my bedroom to go and grab a cup of coffee or tea or hot chocolate. I grab one big cup and say, “God, let’s chat over some coffee (or whatever drink).” To a lot of people, this sounds absolutely crazy but I promise you I’m not crazy. This is normal, and I get to define what’s normal in my life. Having chats about life with God and reading my bible and doing my devotional over coffee with Him is one of my favorite parts of my time with God. And let me tell you something: when I talk to God, He talks back with me.

GOING ON LITERAL WALKS WITH GOD

I’ve only just recently started doing this maybe a couple months ago, but I like spending time with God in the mornings. One of my favorite things to do with Him is to go outside and admire the sunrise. I know, it sounds dumb, but let me tell you, I marvel and am in awe and wonder of how God created such a beautiful thing for us to enjoy. Since it’s getting colder, I’ll put on my warmest outfit, go outside, and walk. I don’t just walk, I walk with God. It’s the most amazing and freeing feeling, and I can’t describe how amazing it is just to watch the sunrise. It’s so exciting, the anticipation of waiting for the light to come alive. It’s the most beautiful and amazing thing in the world. 

WRITING

Writing in my journals have been a thing I’ve done since I was six years old. It’s something I do every day, even if I only write one line. Sometimes, God will give me an idea for a story, and I’ll write it out. Sometimes, I’ll be reminded of a dream, and I’ll write it down. And other times, God will give me a revelation I don’t want to forget, so I’ll write it down. I also like to doodle in my journals. It gives it a little more life and personality, and I enjoy writing. I always have, and I hope I always will. 

I know this was a very different blog post, but I wanted to share it anyways. I hope you guys enjoy it, and I’ll see you soon!

xoxo

Sung Eun Rose

Leave a Reply

