Life On Pointe | Sung Eun Rose

“Great dancers are not great because of their technique, they are great because of their passion.”                                           – Martha Graham

I was inspired to create this LIFE ON POINTE series to inspire & show people how many hours and how much hard work is put into this art. What I’ll be showing is the week’s work and over time, you’ll begin to see improvement.

Since I am in the process of learning the Royal Academy of Dance’s Advanced II Syllabus, you’ll probably see a lot of repetition. To keep your interests perked, each week there will be a full new exercise, and you’ll get to also see some snippets of my own pieces of choreography.

This week was an okay week. I was feeling pretty sick and nauseous, as a result of wonderful womanhood and also being in so much pain from having braces, causing me to eat barely anything. Despite all of this, I still had one of the best weeks since American Ballet Theatre.

We have a lot to cover in the next three months. Thanks to my brilliant teacher and my hard work (I’m not bragging, it’s just reality), I have learned almost half of my exam work. Due to my teacher’s baby being due in the beginning of January, I have to learn all of the work by December, hopefully before then.

I’ve been learning most of the work in pointe shoes even though most of the work will be performed in demi-pointe shoes, otherwise known as flat shoes. This helps with strength, with the theory that if I am able to do the steps in pointe shoes, I should be able to do them in my demi-pointe shoes. It makes the work so much harder, but I like a good challenge.

When it comes to the variation, I am pretty much in love with it. It’s totally my style, it’s light and fairy-like, and it reminds me of when I dance at church on Sundays: freeing and beautiful and light. The music is pretty much impossible to count, so this is one of those rare times I get to feel when the movement happens.

Since the year started, I have been working incredibly hard, and I will continue to work as hard as I possibly can. I hope you enjoy my new series, and I’m so excited to share this journey with you all!

XOXO

Sung Eun Rose

P.S. There’s one week left before my deadline to get 700 followers! With your help, I’ve reach 350. Thank you so much for the support. I need 350 more, so please, continue to share my posts with your friends and family, and follow my instagram, @sungeunrose xoxo!!

Leave a Reply

