Tips For Relaxation

Death_to_stock_photography_Wake_Up_1

“Almost everything will work again if you unplug it for a few minutes… including you.”

Anne Lamott

 

Rest is one of the most important things in life. Often times, I find myself feeling totally drained and exhausted. I dance about 14 hours a week on average, and during show seasons, I dance about 7+ hours extra. Exhaustion can weigh you down and make you feel just plain horrible. Here are some tips I came up with to help care for your body, give you some energy,  and help you relax.

 

Tip No. 1: Light Exercise Outdoors

Image 8-22-16 at 12.39 PM

Believe it or not, exercise actually helps with energy. I personally prefer going outside my house to exercise. The fresh air helps clear my mind and gives me a sense of peace. I go on walks around my neighborhood while listening to some instrumental calming music. Another great type of relaxing exercise is  yoga and pilates.

 

Tip No. 2: Infused Water

DSCN0594

Staying hydrated is one of the hardest things for me to do. Possibly the reason why you feel so weak is because you’re not getting enough water. Drinking a cold glass of morning after you wake up can help make you surprisingly feel energized. Try this before reaching for your morning cup of coffee. I personally don’t like water, so I infuse my water with fruits, and if I’m feeling extra tired, I’ll put a tablespoon of chia seeds in my water.

P.S. Don’t get me wrong, I absolutely love coffee. However, it is incredibly dehydrating. For every one cup of coffee you drink, you have to drink an extra eight glasses of water.

 

Tip No. 3: Pamper Yourself

 

Taking baths really can help you relax and feel great. I’ll admit that I don’t do it every night, but I should. Lush has amazing bath fizzes and bath bombs, but you can also make them yourself, and they’re super easy (See Pinterest for ideas & recipes). Also, taking a bath Pink Himalayan Sea Salt helps take away soreness, detoxes your body of toxins, and helps relax your body. I also use Young Living Essential Oils in my baths. However, some oils are quite hot, mostly the minty oils, so be careful when choosing minty oils. E.g. I use 2 drops of Wintergreen maximum and 2 drops of Pan Away maximum, since I am mixing two minty oils.

 

Tip No. 4: Try Teas

DSCN0591.jpg

Before reaching for your morning cup of coffee, try drinking some black tea of choice. It is tons less dehydrating than coffee. For me, I love black tea because it gives me energy without making me hyper. For relaxing teas, I recommend peppermint tea and chamomile tea. I personally don’t drink peppermint tea since I am incredibly picky with them, but I love chamomile so much. It makes my heart feel warm and fuzzy inside, especially on Autumn days.

Tip No. 5: Read a Book!

photo-1471440671318-55bdbb772f93.jpeg

I feel like these days, we are always staring at our phones and computers (me included). Sometimes all I need is to turn my phone on silent, sit in the quiet of the house (my room) and read a book. My current favorites are “Waiting For You” by Susane Colastani, “The Future of Us” by Jay Asher and Carolyn Mackler, and a new favorite, “The Season” by Jonah Lisa Dyer and Stephen Dyer.

P.S. If you have any other book suggestions, please tell me in the comments below!!!

 

Tip No. 6: Coloring

Image 8-22-16 at 12.44 PM

Oddly enough, I have been so into coloring lately. It has been so therapeutic in my busy life. Lately, I’ve seen so many amazing “adult” coloring books. I’ve done a few,  working on them slowly about once a day for fifteen minutes. It’s a great way to unwind, and when the book is full, I am definitely going and buying another one.

Picture Credits

Death To The Stock 

Unsplash

 

Leave a Reply

